When I hear a small group leader say “I don’t know my Coach” I feel like we have missed the entire purpose of a Coach.   Part of the cause of this is in  enlistment and job description/clarifications of the Coach.  Sometimes we promote people past their passion or level of qualifications.  A great small group Leader who can multiply does not always make a great Coach. I worked for a large company several years ago and had this very discussion.  Just because I am good at my current level does not mean I will be efficient at the next level.  Nor should I have to move to the next level to be rewarded for my excellent work at my current level.

Clarify what you want people to do before you enlist them.  Then allow them some room to be entrepreneurial in the role.  If it is passion that got them here, passion will drive them to improve the position and their performance.

Here are some of our expectations for coaches that have helped us have success:

1. Develop Relationships With Small Group Leaders

  • Meet face to face at least once a quarter
  • Personal contact with leader (phone call/ email) weekly.
  • PRAY for Leaders and groups

2. Listen for Stories of how God is moving in the Group and/or concerns about a group, its leaders/members.

  • Ask questions of how the Leader is doing, how is group doing, and how are members doing.
  • Read GroupFinder Communication report each week watching for notes or chronic absentees and the apprentice.
  • Ask “What God is doing in them and in their group?”

3. Share stories/concerns with GroupLife Staff

  • Refer groups with issues to Coordinator or GroupLife Staff
  • Share moments, situations or service projects where God moved in groups
  • Help recruit small group leaders for video and blog articles to share their story.

Hope these help you clarify some of the expectations with your leadership organization.

