When I was a teenager I worked at a department store in a small town.  The manager. Pediddle Kelly, educated me on an important rule: “Lack of communication causes wars.” He took his time to communicate with me, often.  Now I was a teenager and probably needed the extra clarification, but it never seemed like a burden to him.  His communication style appeared to come very natural.

He would often remind me that “Whether it is with your Mother and Father, Husband and Wife, President and Congressman, or President and Dictator.  Matters not, lack of communication causes wars.”

I have never forgotten his coaching, always communicate and try to be as clear as possible.

Now that I have a teenager, I am understanding this even more.

Now that I am a Small Groups Pastor with over 100 groups, I am understanding this even more.

Now that we have four people in our household, each going in what seems like totally different directions at totally different times, I am understanding this even more.

Now that we are hosting the Saddleback Conference in 2 weeks, I am understanding that even more.

Now that I coach a travel baseball team, I am understanding that even more.

Now that I am writing a one of the most practical books on Small Group Ministry with real life stories to help others catch the vision, I am understanding that even more.

Can you relate?

Thanks Pediddle for the years of coaching and direction!

